Local Pismo Beach Rider Victor Sellinger Explains the Importance of Cross Training for Kitesurfing   Leave a comment

Cross Training Workouts for Action Sports and MMA

Are you ready to enhance your extreme sport skills

Victor Sellinger, Cross Training Workout for Action Sports and MMAMy name is Victor Sellinger, I am the 35 year old owner of MMARoots.com. I Kiteboard (11 years), Kickbox (17 yers with two upper level brown belts one, in Koei Kan Karate and other at The Pit Hawaiian Kempo), Motocross (7 years), and formerly Windsurfed (age 9-25, former US Amateur Champion). I have always sought to improve my sports and hobbies by increasing my fitness levels, but before there were cross training workouts, there were Martial Arts. Martial Arts taught me discipline, agility, flexibility, reaction time and how to break my falls. Over the last seven years, I have witnessed the blending of cross training workouts and martial arts exhibited by legendary trainer John Hackleman of The Pit Martial Arts and Fitness. My experiences with cross training workouts and John Hackleman have done more than exponentially improve my fitness level; they have completely enhanced my sport skills and enjoyment.

My passion for action sports came first, and searching for a way to enhance my sports came second. Seventeen years ago I realized that when I trained in Martial Arts, my entire experience on the water (windsurfing at that time), was dramatically enhanced. Fast forward to today and my multi-sport excursions to Mexico are all about getting in as much time on the water or trails as possible. If I did not utilize cross training workouts and perform Martial Arts before going down to Mexico for at least 10 days prior to taking off, there would be no way that six hours a day of Motocross, Stand Up Paddleboarding, and Kiteboarding would be possible.

I see so many “Weekend Warriors” who only go Surfing, Paddleboarding, Kitesurfing, motor-biking, or hitting the punching bag on the weekends. I cannot tell you how many times I see these guys crumble after only an hour. I hear them say, “I’m tired and sore. It’s going to be a short session today.” It drives me crazy to hear that! If you truly love your adrenaline-junkie action sport and want to get all that you can out of it, you need to support it with solid cross training workouts. Legendary trainer John Hackleman has used cross training workout concepts to develop CrossPit. The concept is simple, if cross training workouts are working for Martial Artists, they will work for all action sports.

Use cross training workouts to enhance your kiteboarding.

 

I want to see every home garage in the USA outfitted with an unconventional gym specifically created to help them with their sports and hobbies. Every action sport requires general cross training workouts involving core-strength and stamina. They also have specific training that involves the muscles and fitness aspects required to improve their skills. For example, kiteboarders should utilize Gym Ring Training to enhance their core strength, stabilizing muscles, and arm and grip strength. Motocross riders require massive endurance and reaction time, a perfect excuse to perform high-rep ballistic exercises like kettlebell juggling. Paddleboarders can use specific kettlebell exercises that mimic paddling or simply tie a resistance band on a stick, attach the band to the wall, and stand on an indo board balance trainer for time.

I have developed and performed hundreds of workouts over the years that are specific to the action sports I love. Over the next few weeks, I’ll be posting a series of cross training workouts that specifically target the muscles and overall fitness aspects of each of my sports. If you’re ready to take your sport or hobby to the next level, stay tuned.


Contributor Information:

Victor Sellinger is the owner and manager of MMARoots.com, a top provider of MMA and fitness equipment and supplies. Victor Sellinger is an extreme athlete that has been involved with kite boarding, kickboxing, stand up paddleboarding, windsurfing, and Motocross for the past seventeen years. Find out more.

Leave a comment